Grading System

A grade point is a numerical value assigned to a letter grade. Each unit with a grade of “A” is assigned four grade points. Each unit with a grade of “B” is assigned three grade points, et cetera. Thus, for example, a three-unit course with a grade of B is assigned a total of nine grade points. A grade point average (GPA) is determined by dividing the total number of grade points by the number of units attempted for which grade points are assigned.

The term “current grade point average” refers to the GPA earned in the last session of enrollment. The term “cumulative grade point average,” on the other hand, refers to the average of the total of grade points accumulated divided by the total of all units earned with letter grades. The cumulative GPA is calculated and then entered on the transcript of the student’s academic record at the end of each session or semester. While courses are transferred from other colleges, grade point averages are determined only on the basis of courses completed at Vanguard University.

Vanguard University uses the following grading system:1

Grade Significance Grade Points
A Exceptional 4.00
A- 3.67
B+ 3.33
B Good 3.0
B- 2.67
C+ 2.33
C Satisfactory 2.00
C- 1.67
D+ 1.33
D Poor 1.00
D- .67
F Failure 0.00
W Withdrawal Not Applicable
WP Withdrawal Passing Not Applicable
WF Withdrawal Failure 0.00
CR Credit Not Applicable
I Incomplete Not Applicable
P Pass (Granted for "C" or higher) Not Applicable
AU Audit Not Applicable